RVP and why trophies aren’t so important to him!

Van Persie has stated that trophies aren’t everything and he would rather play at a better style in football. Here’s what he said.

“I’ve always said that I want to win as many trophies as possible in my career, but not at any price.

“What I am trying to say is that I will work my socks off to get the maximum out of my career, but I won’t move to a club which does not play my style of football.

“Dennis Bergkamp is, in my eyes, still ‘The Master’. The fact that he never won the Champions League, the European Championship or the World Cup does not take anything away from his greatness as a player.

“Of course I love silverware in my football career. But sometimes you can’t rush from A to Z.”

van Persie also prefers the stability at a club like Arsenal, as opposed to the constant change of managers at Real Madrid.

He added: “Van der Vaart has said that, if Arsenal don’t sign him, I’ll have to join him in Madrid.”

“But I don’t think that is for me. Real is a fantastic club but the speed of managers and players coming and going is frightening. It must give them neck ache, looking who is coming in and going out.

“They have this philosophy: You did not win anything this year. There is the door and here is a couple of million to buy you off. Ready for the next purchase.

“I prefer the philosophy of Arsenal and Barcelona.”

Well said Robin,.

In other news, Irish goalkeeper Sean McDermott has signed his first professional contract with the club. I would be interested in seeing how well his goalkeeping skills are. He can either be a David Seaman, or a Fabianski. You really never know with goalkeepers because some games they can just be world class and not catch the ball.

Francis Coquelin could be on his way out to Lorient on loan. I think a loan will be really good for him. He is a great talent and to play in France at a young age could be very helpful to a long career with Arsenal.

Thanks for reading, bye!

3 thoughts on “RVP and why trophies aren’t so important to him!

  1. thankyou robin you are not one of these players who think the be all and end all is being top and have a cabinet full of trophies, yes it would be great but not if it means changing the way arsenal play, would be nice to beat chelsea and man ud more often though.

  2. Millions throughout the world want to see Arsenal play the beautiful game and win. But as RVP says- playing the beautiful game is MORE important than winning. The Arsenal/ Barca games will be remembered long after ANY game Inter has ever played. Great teams are the ones who play football- that’s it. The rest are pants and RVP ( brought up on Cruyff and Van Basten) knows this. Great teams play beautiful football and win most of their games. They might even win a trophy but they will have to be lucky as well as good because as Jose knows- some people will play absolute rubbish to win. And in the Prem- that’s most of the teams!!

  3. you are my best ! my favorite football player ! You have beautiful skill and also beautiful heart 🙂
    Arsenal and you play such a beautiful game and entertaining. Maybe you (and arsenal) can’t get the trophy now, but I believe you’ll get the trophy next season 🙂
    and now it’s time for you will get the WC trophy with Holland !
    xDDD

Leave Your Thoughts

