A Step in the Right Direction for Arsenal

As the transfer market begins to heat up, Arsenal have made their first actual signing  by acquiring the services of 24 year old Ivorian striker Gervinho.

Gervinho had a great season with Lille last season, winning the Ligue 1 in France along with the Coupe de France. Gervinho scored a good 18 goals last season, along with an impressive 10 assists.

Robin Van Persie talked about the signing of Gervinho, stating that he is happy about the competition,

“I know him from the highlights of the French league,” said the Dutchman. “I’ve seen him play a couple of times for the Ivory Coast and I’ve been speaking to [Emmanuel] Eboue and he was very positive about him.

“The things I’ve seen look great but we will have to wait and see how he adapts. Every new player that comes in needs time so he will need a couple of months to feel at home and hopefully he can play his best football.

“I think it is a good thing that you have competition. Everyone needs competition because no one really wants to go to sleep. I think in the ideal world, no one is really sure of his place. Maybe the captain and the goalkeeper but all the others shouldn’t be known before that they will play. It’s good to have competition and be on your toes.

“The way I feel now is that new signings are more than welcome, why not? Every other team is buying quality players so hopefully we will do the same. I think so [you need to invest to keep up]. If you look at Manchester City buying loads of good players and Liverpool is doing it now and Manchester United has been doing it for years. If everyone is doing something you need to do it as well.”

I have never seen Gervinho actually play a game, but I have seen him on Youtube and highlight shows and from what I can gather, he is a very strong and quick player who can run at defences and score goals from acute angles. He would make a good edition to the squad, and with him being a natural winger, Wenger may revert back to a 4-3-3 formation, replacing bendtner on the right.

Some more positive news, Bendtner and Almunia look set to leave,

“Both of them are possible departures,” said the manager. “They are talking to other clubs at the moment. I cannot tell you which ones.”

Bendtner looks to be heading to Borrusia Dortmund, while Almunia may move back to Spain. Bendtner is good player but he isn’t Arsenal quality and I think he will do well in Germany. Almunia would just be happy to find a club that will take him.

Keeping on the positive side, Wenger “Believes Cesc and Nasri will stay”,

“Yes [I expect Cesc to stay]. As simple as that,” said Wenger at a press conference in Kuala Lumpur.

“I have never spoken about what has happened behind closed doors but Cesc loves the Club. We know the Barcelona story goes on for years now and we have to close that. Now we focus on the new season, hopefully with Cesc Fabregas.

“Yes [I expect Nasri to stay as well]. There is always speculation when a player has one year to go on his contract that he might leave the club but Samir Nasri is very happy at the Club and committed to stay at the Club.

“I hope he will sign a new contract but I am not the only one to decide that.”

The last quote says  “I hope he will sign a new contract but I am not the only one to decide that.” The I am not the only one to decide that is pretty important because if Nasri doesn’t sing a new contract, we have to sell him so we can get £20m+ for him, instead of letting him go on a free.

Fabregas loves the club and wants to win trophies with us, but he also loves Barcelona and would win trophies with them. But Arsenal aren’t in a position to have to sell and could say no to any offer that comes in.

5 thoughts on “A Step in the Right Direction for Arsenal

  1. If Arsenal has really sign Gervinho as they proclaimed. I want to see his Official Presentation photographs with Wenger by his side. I’m matured enough to allow Wenger & the useless board to jive me with their unrepentant lies.

  2. with nasri, cesc, rvp and the new signing ( Gervinho). I c a beta seasn ahead. Bendtner and almunia 2 leave? Awesome!!!

  3. Why hasn’t Denilson left yet? He wanted to leave to win things so i cant understand why there’s been such little interest in obviously our best player. Maybe we’ll have to loan him out to Crawley Town or someone so he can have a crack at Div 2?

Leave Your Thoughts

