Swansea v Arsenal- Match Preview

The games are starting to come thick and fast now, and unfortunately, they won’t be getting easier any time soon.

Fortunately for Arsenal, there is a real convergence of the team now. We have come a long way in the last six months when you think about it, and it has all been for the better. If you look at the big picture, we have gotten rid of dead wood, kept our entire starting players, signed a world class player, and grabbed big results against some very good oppositions. If you compare Arsenal to almost every other team in Europe, you would have to say that we have definitely been one of the better sides over the past six months. A win tomorrow would only add to our overgrowing confidence and team chemistry.

Monreal scored in this fixture last season. Photo from Arsenal.com

There is something about going away that worries me about Arsenal. Strangely, we have been racking up all of the points on the road, while failing to capitalize in many of our home games.  Still, when we play away, we usually don’t get in control of the game and seem to just have that little bit of luck in order to win. While we are at home, we always seem to have possession but our quality in the final third is usually lacking due to the opposition taking that approach to “park the bus”. Even when teams don’t park the bus we still have trouble at home, which is a bit worrying.

Anyways, going to Swansea will be difficult and I am not expecting any fat lady to be singing at any point during the game. I have been highly impressed with Swansea over the past season, having won the League Cup and produced some of the best football in the League. I was fairly impressed with the performance against Liverpool which ended in a 2-2 draw. They were unfortunate not to win but two errors costed them the three points. There will be no room for error from any side tomorrow as both teams need the three points to help reach their respected targets.

There aren’t any new injuries to report of, and the squad will most likely be the same as last week. Walcott had successful surgery and is set to be out for around 5 weeks. Cazorla is set to be joining the squad soon and so is Tomas Rosicky. With the amount of players coming back, we are going to have an entirely different team in the next month!

Speaking before the match, Arsene Wenger talked about the recent praise he had received from majority share holder, Stan Kroenke:

“I am very honoured to have the support of Stan Kroenke,” said the manager. “That he thinks I can help the Club is a huge confidence vote. That is something for me that is very positive.

“I said I want to focus on the quality of our season and I don’t believe that anybody can question my commitment to this Club. I want to feel that I do well and then the question of me staying will be secondary after that.

“The good thing with me, if I have one quality, [it’s that] you don’t need a lot of talks to extend the contract I have.

“I don’t know [when I will sign a new contract]. When we find time. I don’t think that’s the most important problem at the moment. It’s straightforward and I don’t think there’s anything more to add to that.”

There is never any doubt to the matter that Wenger will sign a new contract. It’s a matter of when not if. Some Arsenal fans will agree and some won’t, although more and more fans are backing him. I have to admit that I have been inconsistent with my opinions over Wenger. A month ago, I felt he should he be sacked and he didn’t know what he was doing. Now, I’m back to the Arsene is God mode. You have to have respect for him no matter what team you support and there aren’t a lot of managers like that. He is an admirable man and I hope that he is able to leave Arsenal on a high note rather than a sour. Surely winning the Champions League would be the pinnacle of his career that he is so desperately trying to reach.

So a big game tomorrow in Wales, let’s hope we can be the twelfth man and pick up a 2-0 victory as we did last season.

3 thoughts on “Swansea v Arsenal- Match Preview

Leave Your Thoughts

